Police and Fire Commission

The Village of Howard Police and Fire Commission shall have the powers and duties as prescribed in Wis. Stats. § 62.13, and such other powers and duties as the Village Board may from time to time designate. General rules for the government of the village police and fire departments shall be promulgated by the village Police and Fire Commission.


The Police and Fire Commission meets two to six times each year on an as-needed basis. Meetings are held at the Howard Fire Department, 2456 Glendale Ave.


The Police and Fire Commission shall consist of five citizen members appointed by the village president for staggered five-year terms. The current members:

Patrick Laughlin, Chairman

Michael Ruby

​Ilya Dayter

​Alonzo Kelly

Russ Stover